2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: How low is the councils' area wide level of household waste produced?

Question code
Waste Reduction & Food
Household Waste Amount
National Data
Question weight


Criteria met if the annual residual waste in kg per household in the area is 300-400kg per household.
Further points awarded if the annual residual waste in kg per household in the area is under 300kg per household.

This question is scoring councils on the amount of residual waste (kg) per household in each council.


Residual waste includes waste sent to landfill and incineration. It excludes waste that is recycled or composted.

Marked using data provided by DEFRA, Stats Wales and SEPA

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

145 single tier councils

1 point

15 single tier councils

2 points

22 single tier councils
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Bridgend County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Caerphilly County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Cardiff Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Carmarthenshire County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Ceredigion County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Conwy County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Denbighshire County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Flintshire County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Gwynedd County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Isle of Anglesey County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Monmouthshire County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Newport City Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Pembrokeshire County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Powys County Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Swansea City Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Torfaen County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Vale of Glamorgan Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Wrexham County Borough Council2/2statswales.gov.wales
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/2docs.google.com
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
City of London1/2docs.google.com
Inverclyde Council1/2docs.google.com
London Borough of Ealing1/2docs.google.com
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/2docs.google.com
London Borough of Islington1/2docs.google.com
London Borough of Lambeth1/2docs.google.com
Reading Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Salford City Council1/2docs.google.com
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Aberdeen City Council0/2
Aberdeenshire Council0/2
Angus Council0/2
Argyll and Bute Council0/2
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Bedford Borough Council0/2
Birmingham City Council0/2
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/2
Blackpool Borough Council0/2
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/2
Bracknell Forest Council0/2
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/2
Brighton and Hove City Council0/2
Bristol City Council0/2
Buckinghamshire Council0/2
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Central Bedfordshire Council0/2
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/2
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/2
City of Edinburgh Council0/2
City of York Council0/2
Clackmannanshire Council0/2
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/2
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/2
Coventry City Council0/2
Darlington Borough Council0/2
Derby City Council0/2
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Dorset Council0/2
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/2
Dundee City Council0/2
Durham County Council0/2
East Ayrshire Council0/2
East Dunbartonshire Council0/2
East Lothian Council0/2
East Renfrewshire Council0/2
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/2
Falkirk Council0/2
Fife Council0/2
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Glasgow City Council0/2
Halton Borough Council0/2
Hartlepool Borough Council0/2
Herefordshire Council0/2
Isle of Wight Council0/2
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/2
Kirklees Council0/2
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Leeds City Council0/2
Leicester City Council0/2
Liverpool City Council0/2
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/2
London Borough of Barnet0/2
London Borough of Bexley0/2
London Borough of Brent0/2
London Borough of Bromley0/2
London Borough of Camden0/2
London Borough of Croydon0/2
London Borough of Enfield0/2
London Borough of Hackney0/2
London Borough of Haringey0/2
London Borough of Harrow0/2
London Borough of Havering0/2
London Borough of Hillingdon0/2
London Borough of Hounslow0/2
London Borough of Lewisham0/2
London Borough of Merton0/2
London Borough of Newham0/2
London Borough of Redbridge0/2
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames0/2
London Borough of Southwark0/2
London Borough of Sutton0/2
London Borough of Tower Hamlets0/2
London Borough of Waltham Forest0/2
London Borough of Wandsworth0/2
Luton Borough Council0/2
Manchester City Council0/2
Medway Council0/2
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/2
Midlothian Council0/2
Milton Keynes0/2
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/2
North Ayrshire Council0/2
North East Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Lanarkshire Council0/2
North Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Northamptonshire Council0/2
North Somerset Council0/2
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Northumberland Council0/2
Nottingham City Council0/2
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Orkney Islands Council0/2
Perth and Kinross Council0/2
Peterborough City Council0/2
Plymouth City Council0/2
Portsmouth City Council0/2
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/2
Renfrewshire Council0/2
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Royal Borough of Greenwich0/2
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea0/2
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames0/2
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead0/2
Rutland County Council0/2
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Scottish Borders Council0/2
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Sheffield City Council0/2
Shetland Islands Council0/2
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/2
Slough Borough Council0/2
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Somerset Council0/2
Southampton City Council0/2
South Ayrshire Council0/2
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/2
South Gloucestershire Council0/2
South Lanarkshire Council0/2
South Tyneside Council0/2
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Stirling Council0/2
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/2
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/2
Sunderland City Council0/2
Swindon Borough Council0/2
Telford & Wrekin Council0/2
The Highland Council0/2
The Moray Council0/2
Thurrock Council0/2
Torbay Council0/2
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/2
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Warrington Borough Council0/2
West Berkshire Council0/2
West Dunbartonshire Council0/2
West Lothian Council0/2
Westminster City Council0/2
West Northamptonshire Council0/2
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Wiltshire Council0/2
Wirral Council0/2
Wokingham Borough Council0/2
Wolverhampton City Council0/2