2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: How low is the councils' area wide level of household waste produced?

Question code
Waste Reduction & Food
Household Waste Amount
National Data
Question weight


Criteria met if the annual residual waste in kg per household in the area is 300-400kg per household.
Further points awarded if the annual residual waste in kg per household in the area is under 300kg per household.

This question is scoring councils on the amount of residual waste (kg) per household in each council.


Residual waste includes waste sent to landfill and incineration. It excludes waste that is recycled or composted.

Marked using data provided by DEFRA, Stats Wales and SEPA

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

132 district councils

1 point

30 district councils

2 points

1 district council
East Devon District Council2/2docs.google.com
Colchester Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Cotswold District Council1/2docs.google.com
Derbyshire Dales District Council1/2docs.google.com
East Cambridgeshire District Council1/2docs.google.com
Guildford Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Maidstone Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Maldon District Council1/2docs.google.com
Mid Devon District Council1/2docs.google.com
Mole Valley District Council1/2docs.google.com
North Hertfordshire District Council1/2docs.google.com
Oxford City Council1/2docs.google.com
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Rochford District Council1/2docs.google.com
Runnymede Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
South Hams District Council1/2docs.google.com
South Oxfordshire District Council1/2docs.google.com
St Albans City and District Council1/2docs.google.com
Stroud District Council1/2docs.google.com
Surrey Heath Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Tandridge District Council1/2docs.google.com
Teignbridge District Council1/2docs.google.com
Three Rivers District Council1/2docs.google.com
Torridge District Council1/2docs.google.com
Vale of White Horse District Council1/2docs.google.com
Warwick District Council1/2docs.google.com
Watford Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Waverley Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
West Devon Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
West Oxfordshire District Council1/2docs.google.com
Woking Borough Council1/2docs.google.com
Adur District Council0/2
Amber Valley Borough Council0/2
Arun District Council0/2
Ashfield District Council0/2
Ashford Borough Council0/2
Basildon Borough Council0/2
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/2
Bassetlaw District Council0/2
Blaby District Council0/2
Bolsover District Council0/2
Borough of Broxbourne0/2
Boston Borough Council0/2
Braintree District Council0/2
Breckland District Council0/2
Brentwood Borough Council0/2
Broadland District Council0/2
Bromsgrove District Council0/2
Broxtowe Borough Council0/2
Burnley Borough Council0/2
Cambridge City Council0/2
Cannock Chase District Council0/2
Canterbury City Council0/2
Castle Point Borough Council0/2
Charnwood Borough Council0/2
Chelmsford City Council0/2
Cheltenham Borough Council0/2
Cherwell District Council0/2
Chesterfield Borough Council0/2
Chichester District Council0/2
Chorley Council0/2
City of Lincoln Council0/2
Crawley Borough Council0/2
Dacorum Council0/2
Dartford Borough Council0/2
Dover District Council0/2
Eastbourne Borough Council0/2
East Hampshire District Council0/2
East Hertfordshire District Council0/2
Eastleigh Borough Council0/2
East Lindsey District Council0/2
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/2
East Suffolk Council0/2
Elmbridge Borough Council0/2
Epping Forest District Council0/2
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/2
Erewash Borough Council0/2
Exeter City Council0/2
Fareham Borough Council0/2
Fenland District Council0/2
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/2
Forest of Dean District Council0/2
Fylde Borough Council0/2
Gedling Borough Council0/2
Gloucester City Council0/2
Gosport Borough Council0/2
Gravesham Borough Council0/2
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/2
Harborough District Council0/2
Harlow Council0/2
Hart District Council0/2
Hastings Borough Council0/2
Havant Borough Council0/2
Hertsmere Borough Council0/2
High Peak Borough Council0/2
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/2
Horsham District Council0/2
Huntingdonshire District Council0/2
Hyndburn Borough Council0/2
Ipswich Borough Council0/2
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/2
Lancaster City Council0/2
Lewes District Council0/2
Lichfield District Council0/2
Malvern Hills District Council0/2
Mansfield District Council0/2
Melton Borough Council0/2
Mid Suffolk District Council0/2
Mid Sussex District Council0/2
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/2
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/2
New Forest District Council0/2
North Devon Council0/2
North East Derbyshire District Council0/2
North Kesteven District Council0/2
North Norfolk District Council0/2
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/2
North West Leicestershire District Council0/2
Norwich City Council0/2
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/2
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/2
Pendle Borough Council0/2
Preston City Council0/2
Redditch Borough Council0/2
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/2
Rossendale Borough Council0/2
Rother District Council0/2
Rugby Borough Council0/2
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/2
Rushmoor Borough Council0/2
Sevenoaks District Council0/2
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/2
South Derbyshire District Council0/2
South Holland District Council0/2
South Kesteven District Council0/2
South Norfolk District Council0/2
South Ribble Borough Council0/2
South Staffordshire Council0/2
Spelthorne Borough Council0/2
Stafford Borough Council0/2
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/2
Stevenage Borough Council0/2
Stratford-on-Avon District Council0/2
Swale Borough Council0/2
Tamworth Borough Council0/2
Tendring District Council0/2
Test Valley Borough Council0/2
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/2
Thanet District Council0/2
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/2
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/2
Uttlesford District Council0/2
Wealden District Council0/2
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/2
West Lancashire Borough Council0/2
West Lindsey District Council0/2
West Suffolk Council0/2
Winchester City Council0/2
Worcester City Council0/2
Worthing Borough Council0/2
Wychavon District Council0/2
Wyre Council0/2
Wyre Forest District Council0/2