2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council reduced single use plastic in its buildings and events?

Question code
Waste Reduction & Food
Single Use Plastic
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if the council has successfully stopped using some single use plastic in the council office buildings and events. This excludes schools, leisure centres and other council buildings.

Points will be awarded if the council has done 2 or more of the following:
- installing water drinking fountains on the council estate/public spaces
- banning plastic cups for water
- reducing plastic packaging
- reducing the use of two or more of the following: plastic cutlery (forks, knives, spoons, chopsticks), plates, straws, beverage stirrers, balloon sticks or food and cup containers made of expanded polystyrene; including their covers and lids at their external events.


Single use plastic or disposable plastics are used only once before they are thrown away or recycled. They are made from fossil fuels like petroleum and can be very hard to recycle.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

116 district councils

1 point

48 district councils
Babergh District Council1/1suffolk.gov.uk
Borough of Broxbourne1/1broxbourne.gov.uk
Boston Borough Council1/1boston.gov.uk
Broxtowe Borough Council1/1
Cambridge City Council1/1cambridge.gov.uk
Castle Point Borough Council1/1castlepoint.gov.uk
City of Lincoln Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
Dartford Borough Council1/1dartford.gov.uk
Eastbourne Borough Council1/1democracy.lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
Eastleigh Borough Council1/1eastleigh.gov.uk
East Lindsey District Council1/1e-lindsey.gov.uk
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council1/1epsom-ewell.gov.uk
Fareham Borough Council1/1moderngov.fareham.gov.uk
Fylde Borough Council1/1new.fylde.gov.uk
Gedling Borough Council1/1gedling.gov.uk
Gravesham Borough Council1/1gravesham.gov.uk
Harborough District Council1/1harborough.gov.uk
Harlow Council1/1harlow.gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/1hertsmere.gov.uk
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council1/1hinckley-bosworth.gov.uk
Huntingdonshire District Council1/1huntingdonshire.gov.uk
Hyndburn Borough Council1/1democracy.hyndburnbc.gov.uk
Ipswich Borough Council1/1ipswich.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/1lancaster.gov.uk
Malvern Hills District Council1/1moderngov.malvernhills.gov.uk
Mid Sussex District Council1/1midsussex.gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council1/1surreyep.org.uk
North East Derbyshire District Council1/1ne-derbyshire.gov.uk
North Hertfordshire District Council1/1north-herts.gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council1/1pendle.gov.uk
Ribble Valley Borough Council1/1ribblevalley.gov.uk
South Cambridgeshire District Council1/1scambs.gov.uk
South Oxfordshire District Council1/1southoxon.gov.uk
Spelthorne Borough Council1/1spelthorne.gov.uk
St Albans City and District Council1/1stalbans.gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council1/1stratford.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/1stroud.gov.uk
Surrey Heath Borough Council1/1surreyheath.gov.uk
Swale Borough Council1/1services.swale.gov.uk
Tewkesbury Borough Council1/1minutes.tewkesbury.gov.uk
Three Rivers District Council1/1threerivers.gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council1/1whitehorsedc.gov.uk
Warwick District Council1/1warwickdc.gov.uk
West Lancashire Borough Council1/1democracy.westlancs.gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council1/1west-lindsey.gov.uk
West Oxfordshire District Council1/1westoxon.gov.uk
Woking Borough Council1/1planetwoking.co.uk
Worcester City Council1/1worcesterobserver.co.uk
Adur District Council0/1
Amber Valley Borough Council0/1
Arun District Council0/1
Ashfield District Council0/1
Ashford Borough Council0/1
Basildon Borough Council0/1
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/1
Bassetlaw District Council0/1
Blaby District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Braintree District Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Broadland District Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Canterbury City Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Chelmsford City Council0/1
Cheltenham Borough Council0/1
Cherwell District Council0/1
Chesterfield Borough Council0/1
Chichester District Council0/1
Chorley Council0/1
Colchester Borough Council0/1
Cotswold District Council0/1
Crawley Borough Council0/1
Dacorum Council0/1
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/1
Dover District Council0/1
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
East Devon District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/1
East Suffolk Council0/1
Elmbridge Borough Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Erewash Borough Council0/1
Exeter City Council0/1
Fenland District Council0/1
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/1
Forest of Dean District Council0/1
Gloucester City Council0/1
Gosport Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Hart District Council0/1
Hastings Borough Council0/1
Havant Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/1
Lewes District Council0/1
Lichfield District Council0/1
Maidstone Borough Council0/1
Maldon District Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Melton Borough Council0/1
Mid Devon District Council0/1
Mid Suffolk District Council0/1
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/1
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/1
New Forest District Council0/1
North Devon Council0/1
North Kesteven District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/1
North West Leicestershire District Council0/1
Norwich City Council0/1
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Oxford City Council0/1
Preston City Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rother District Council0/1
Rugby Borough Council0/1
Runnymede Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
Sevenoaks District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Hams District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Norfolk District Council0/1
South Ribble Borough Council0/1
South Staffordshire Council0/1
Stafford Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Tandridge District Council0/1
Teignbridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Test Valley Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Watford Borough Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Wealden District Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Devon Borough Council0/1
West Suffolk Council0/1
Winchester City Council0/1
Worthing Borough Council0/1
Wychavon District Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1