2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council use peat free compost or soil in all landscaping and horticulture?

Question code
Peat Free
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if the council has stopped using peat in soils in all landscaping and horticulture such as parks and council properties. A commitment that the council has stopped using peat compost or soil on their website or biodiversity strategy will be sufficient to meet the criteria.



Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

126 district councils

1 point

38 district councils
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council1/1basingstoke.gov.uk
Blaby District Council1/1blaby.gov.uk
Broadland District Council1/1southnorfolkandbroadland.gov.uk
Cambridge City Council1/1democracy.cambridge.gov.uk
Cheltenham Borough Council1/1cheltenham.gov.uk
Chorley Council1/1chorley.gov.uk
Dartford Borough Council1/1dartford.gov.uk
Derbyshire Dales District Council1/1derbyshiredales.gov.uk
Eastleigh Borough Council1/1meetings.eastleigh.gov.uk
East Staffordshire Borough Council1/1eaststaffsbc.gov.uk
Folkestone and Hythe District Council1/1folkestone-hythe.gov.uk
Gedling Borough Council1/1gedling.gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/1hertsmere.gov.uk
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council1/1hinckley-bosworth.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/1lancaster.gov.uk
Lewes District Council1/1democracy.lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
Lichfield District Council1/1lichfield.gov.uk
Maidstone Borough Council1/1maidstone.gov.uk
Melton Borough Council1/1melton.gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council1/1molevalley.gov.uk
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council1/1moderngov.newcastle-staffs.gov.uk
New Forest District Council1/1newforest.gov.uk
North Devon Council1/1northdevonbiosphere.org.uk
North Hertfordshire District Council1/1cdn-eastherts.onwebcurl.com
North West Leicestershire District Council1/1nwleics.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/1oxford.gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council1/1pendle.gov.uk
Rugby Borough Council1/1rugby.gov.uk
South Cambridgeshire District Council1/1scambs.gov.uk
South Norfolk District Council1/1southnorfolkandbroadland.gov.uk
Spelthorne Borough Council1/1democracy.spelthorne.gov.uk
St Albans City and District Council1/1stalbans.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/1stroud.gov.uk
Surrey Heath Borough Council1/1surreyheath.gov.uk
Tandridge District Council1/1tandridge.gov.uk
Watford Borough Council1/1watford.gov.uk
West Suffolk Council1/1democracy.westsuffolk.gov.uk
Worcester City Council1/1worcester.gov.uk
Adur District Council0/1
Amber Valley Borough Council0/1
Arun District Council0/1
Ashfield District Council0/1
Ashford Borough Council0/1
Babergh District Council0/1
Basildon Borough Council0/1
Bassetlaw District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Borough of Broxbourne0/1
Boston Borough Council0/1
Braintree District Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Broxtowe Borough Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Canterbury City Council0/1
Castle Point Borough Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Chelmsford City Council0/1
Cherwell District Council0/1
Chesterfield Borough Council0/1
Chichester District Council0/1
City of Lincoln Council0/1
Colchester Borough Council0/1
Cotswold District Council0/1
Crawley Borough Council0/1
Dacorum Council0/1
Dover District Council0/1
Eastbourne Borough Council0/1
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
East Devon District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
East Lindsey District Council0/1
East Suffolk Council0/1
Elmbridge Borough Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/1
Erewash Borough Council0/1
Exeter City Council0/1
Fareham Borough Council0/1
Fenland District Council0/1
Forest of Dean District Council0/1
Fylde Borough Council0/1
Gloucester City Council0/1
Gosport Borough Council0/1
Gravesham Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Harborough District Council0/1
Harlow Council0/1
Hart District Council0/1
Hastings Borough Council0/1
Havant Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
Huntingdonshire District Council0/1
Hyndburn Borough Council0/1
Ipswich Borough Council0/1
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/1
Maldon District Council0/1
Malvern Hills District Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Mid Devon District Council0/1
Mid Suffolk District Council0/1
Mid Sussex District Council0/1
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/1
North East Derbyshire District Council0/1
North Kesteven District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/1
Norwich City Council0/1
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Preston City Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/1
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rother District Council0/1
Runnymede Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
Sevenoaks District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Hams District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Oxfordshire District Council0/1
South Ribble Borough Council0/1
South Staffordshire Council0/1
Stafford Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Stratford-on-Avon District Council0/1
Swale Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Teignbridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Test Valley Borough Council0/1
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Three Rivers District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Vale of White Horse District Council0/1
Warwick District Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Wealden District Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Devon Borough Council0/1
West Lancashire Borough Council0/1
West Lindsey District Council0/1
West Oxfordshire District Council0/1
Winchester City Council0/1
Woking Borough Council0/1
Worthing Borough Council0/1
Wychavon District Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1