2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: According to the council's own reporting, have the council's own greenhouse gas emissions reduced since 2019?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Emission data reduction
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Three tier criteria
Councils must meet the minimum criteria of question 3a to be able to get points for this question.

Criteria met if, using the councils' own reporting mechanisms, there has been a 5% or more reduction of scope 1 and 2 emissions when comparing 2019 to 2021 (or financial years 2018/19 to 2021/22) data.

Additional points awarded if this emission reduction has been 10% or more, or further points if the reduction has been 20% or more.

Further points awarded if there has been any reduction from scope 3 emissions.

We recognise that there is currently no standard way that all councils use to report on emissions. We will score councils' own calculations, despite the differences, as long as they fulfill the requirements in 3a.


It must be possible to see exact figures to calculate the decrease. For example, a stand alone overall percentage increase number or a graph where you can’t read the actual figures is not valid.
Scope 1 emissions are greenhouse gas emissions that an organisation owns or controls directly, such as fuel burnt from council vehicles.
Scope 2 emissions are greenhouse gas emissions that an organisation produces indirectly when they purchase and use energy, such as the emissions created from the electricity the council buys to heat its offices.
Scope 3 emissions are greenhouse gas emissions that are created indirectly in an organisations' supply chain, such as the emissions produced in making the computers or paper that the council buys. Scope 3 also includes any other emissions not within scope 1 and 2.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

122 district councils

1 point

9 district councils

2 points

23 district councils

3 points

10 district councils
Cheltenham Borough Council3/3democracy.cheltenham.gov.uk
City of Lincoln Council3/3lincoln.gov.uk
Derbyshire Dales District Council3/3
East Devon District Council3/3eastdevon.gov.uk
East Hertfordshire District Council3/3cdn-eastherts.onwebcurl.com
Elmbridge Borough Council3/3elmbridge.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council3/3app.powerbi.com
Tewkesbury Borough Council3/3tewkesburyborough-my.sharepoint.com
Welwyn Hatfield Council3/3democracy.welhat.gov.uk
Woking Borough Council3/3
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council2/3basingstoke.gov.uk
Borough of Broxbourne2/3broxbourne.gov.uk
Broxtowe Borough Council2/3democracy.broxtowe.gov.uk
Charnwood Borough Council2/3charnwood.gov.uk
Dover District Council2/3dover.gov.uk
Eastbourne Borough Council2/3democracy.lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
East Lindsey District Council2/3
East Suffolk Council2/3
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council2/3epsom-ewell.gov.uk
Folkestone and Hythe District Council2/3folkestone-hythe.moderngov.co.uk
Harborough District Council2/3harborough.gov.uk
Ipswich Borough Council2/3ipswich.gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council2/3molevalley.gov.uk
Oxford City Council2/3oxford.gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council2/3pendle.gov.uk
Runnymede Borough Council2/3runnymede.gov.uk
South Cambridgeshire District Council2/3scambs.moderngov.co.uk
South Oxfordshire District Council2/3southoxon.gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council2/3democracy.stratford.gov.uk
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council2/3tmbc.gov.uk
Uttlesford District Council2/3uttlesford.gov.uk
Warwick District Council2/3estates8.warwickdc.gov.uk
Waverley Borough Council2/3waverley.gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council1/3ambervalley.gov.uk
Cambridge City Council1/3cambridge.gov.uk
East Cambridgeshire District Council1/3
Gravesham Borough Council1/3gravesham.gov.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council1/3babergh.gov.uk
North Norfolk District Council1/3north-norfolk.gov.uk
South Derbyshire District Council1/3southderbyshire.gov.uk
Three Rivers District Council1/3api.threerivers.gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council1/3whitehorsedc.gov.uk
Adur District Council0/3
Arun District Council0/3
Ashfield District Council0/3
Ashford Borough Council0/3
Babergh District Council0/3
Basildon Borough Council0/3
Bassetlaw District Council0/3
Blaby District Council0/3
Bolsover District Council0/3
Boston Borough Council0/3
Braintree District Council0/3
Breckland District Council0/3
Brentwood Borough Council0/3
Broadland District Council0/3
Bromsgrove District Council0/3
Burnley Borough Council0/3
Cannock Chase District Council0/3
Canterbury City Council0/3
Castle Point Borough Council0/3
Chelmsford City Council0/3
Cherwell District Council0/3
Chesterfield Borough Council0/3
Chichester District Council0/3
Chorley Council0/3
Colchester Borough Council0/3
Cotswold District Council0/3
Crawley Borough Council0/3
Dacorum Council0/3
Dartford Borough Council0/3
East Hampshire District Council0/3
Eastleigh Borough Council0/3
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/3
Epping Forest District Council0/3
Erewash Borough Council0/3
Exeter City Council0/3
Fareham Borough Council0/3
Fenland District Council0/3
Forest of Dean District Council0/3
Fylde Borough Council0/3
Gedling Borough Council0/3
Gloucester City Council0/3
Gosport Borough Council0/3
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/3
Guildford Borough Council0/3
Harlow Council0/3
Hart District Council0/3
Hastings Borough Council0/3
Havant Borough Council0/3
Hertsmere Borough Council0/3
High Peak Borough Council0/3
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/3
Horsham District Council0/3
Huntingdonshire District Council0/3
Hyndburn Borough Council0/3
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/3
Lewes District Council0/3
Lichfield District Council0/3
Maidstone Borough Council0/3
Maldon District Council0/3
Malvern Hills District Council0/3
Mansfield District Council0/3
Melton Borough Council0/3
Mid Devon District Council0/3
Mid Sussex District Council0/3
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/3
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/3
New Forest District Council0/3
North Devon Council0/3
North East Derbyshire District Council0/3
North Hertfordshire District Council0/3
North Kesteven District Council0/3
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/3
North West Leicestershire District Council0/3
Norwich City Council0/3
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/3
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/3
Preston City Council0/3
Redditch Borough Council0/3
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/3
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/3
Rochford District Council0/3
Rossendale Borough Council0/3
Rother District Council0/3
Rugby Borough Council0/3
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/3
Rushmoor Borough Council0/3
Sevenoaks District Council0/3
South Hams District Council0/3
South Holland District Council0/3
South Kesteven District Council0/3
South Norfolk District Council0/3
South Ribble Borough Council0/3
South Staffordshire Council0/3
Spelthorne Borough Council0/3
Stafford Borough Council0/3
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/3
St Albans City and District Council0/3
Stevenage Borough Council0/3
Stroud District Council0/3
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/3
Swale Borough Council0/3
Tamworth Borough Council0/3
Tandridge District Council0/3
Teignbridge District Council0/3
Tendring District Council0/3
Test Valley Borough Council0/3
Thanet District Council0/3
Torridge District Council0/3
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/3
Watford Borough Council0/3
Wealden District Council0/3
West Devon Borough Council0/3
West Lancashire Borough Council0/3
West Lindsey District Council0/3
West Oxfordshire District Council0/3
West Suffolk Council0/3
Winchester City Council0/3
Worcester City Council0/3
Worthing Borough Council0/3
Wychavon District Council0/3
Wyre Council0/3
Wyre Forest District Council0/3