2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council's corporate plan include a net-zero target and make tackling the climate emergency one of its main priorities?

Question code
Governance & Finance
Net Zero Embedded in Corporate Plan
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if climate action (alternatively called Sustainability or Environment) is listed as one of the council's core priorities or equivalent. It must have its own heading or section and a net zero target date must be referenced.

The net-zero target date must be an area-wide target, either the UK Government's national target, the devolved nation's target or the council's area-wide net zero target.


A corporate plan is a business planning document that sets out the council's future priorities and objectives to help ensure that the council manages its resources effectively.

For County Councils the document is called a(Strategic) Economic Plan

We will accept other language for target dates being used such as carbon neutrality.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

100 district councils

1 point

64 district councils
Adur District Council1/1adur-worthing.gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council1/1info.ambervalley.gov.uk
Arun District Council1/1arun.gov.uk
Ashfield District Council1/1ashfield.gov.uk
Ashford Borough Council1/1ashford.gov.uk
Babergh District Council1/1baberghmidsuffolk.moderngov.co.uk
Basildon Borough Council1/1basildon.gov.uk
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council1/1basingstoke.gov.uk
Borough of Broxbourne1/1broxbourne.gov.uk
Braintree District Council1/1braintree.gov.uk
Broxtowe Borough Council1/1broxtowe.gov.uk
Cambridge City Council1/1cambridge.gov.uk
Cheltenham Borough Council1/1cheltenham.gov.uk
Cherwell District Council1/1cherwell.gov.uk
Chesterfield Borough Council1/1chesterfield.moderngov.co.uk
Chorley Council1/1chorley.gov.uk
Cotswold District Council1/1
Dacorum Council1/1dacorum.gov.uk
Dover District Council1/1
Eastbourne Borough Council1/1lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
East Cambridgeshire District Council1/1
East Devon District Council1/1eastdevon.gov.uk
East Staffordshire Borough Council1/1eaststaffsbc.gov.uk
Elmbridge Borough Council1/1elmbridge.gov.uk
Erewash Borough Council1/1erewash.gov.uk
Exeter City Council1/1exeter.gov.uk
Fenland District Council1/1fenland.gov.uk
Folkestone and Hythe District Council1/1service.folkestone-hythe.gov.uk
Forest of Dean District Council1/1fdean.gov.uk
Gedling Borough Council1/1gedling.gov.uk
Gloucester City Council1/1gloucester.gov.uk
Gravesham Borough Council1/1democracy.gravesham.gov.uk
Harlow Council1/1harlow.gov.uk
Hart District Council1/1hart.gov.uk
Havant Borough Council1/1cdn.havant.gov.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/1hertsmere.gov.uk
Huntingdonshire District Council1/1huntingdonshire.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/1lancaster.gov.uk
Lewes District Council1/1democracy.lewes-eastbourne.gov.uk
Maldon District Council1/1maldon.gov.uk
Malvern Hills District Council1/1malvernhills.gov.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council1/1babergh.gov.uk
Mid Sussex District Council1/1midsussex.gov.uk
Mole Valley District Council1/1molevalley.gov.uk
Newark and Sherwood District Council1/1newark-sherwooddc.gov.uk
North Kesteven District Council1/1n-kesteven.gov.uk
North Warwickshire Borough Council1/1northwarks.gov.uk
North West Leicestershire District Council1/1nwleics.gov.uk
Norwich City Council1/1norwich.gov.uk
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council1/1nuneatonandbedworth.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/1oxford.gov.uk
Ribble Valley Borough Council1/1ribblevalley.gov.uk
South Hams District Council1/1southhams.gov.uk
South Oxfordshire District Council1/1southoxon.gov.uk
Stafford Borough Council1/1indd.adobe.com
St Albans City and District Council1/1stalbans.gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council1/1stratford.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/1stroud.gov.uk
Surrey Heath Borough Council1/1surreyheath.gov.uk
Swale Borough Council1/1services.swale.gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council1/1whitehorsedc.gov.uk
Warwick District Council1/1warwickdc.gov.uk
Winchester City Council1/1winchester.gov.uk
Worthing Borough Council1/1adur-worthing.gov.uk
Bassetlaw District Council0/1
Blaby District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Boston Borough Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Broadland District Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Canterbury City Council0/1
Castle Point Borough Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Chelmsford City Council0/1
Chichester District Council0/1
City of Lincoln Council0/1
Colchester Borough Council0/1
Crawley Borough Council0/1
Dartford Borough Council0/1
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
Eastleigh Borough Council0/1
East Lindsey District Council0/1
East Suffolk Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/1
Fareham Borough Council0/1
Fylde Borough Council0/1
Gosport Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Harborough District Council0/1
Hastings Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
Hyndburn Borough Council0/1
Ipswich Borough Council0/1
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/1
Lichfield District Council0/1
Maidstone Borough Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Melton Borough Council0/1
Mid Devon District Council0/1
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/1
New Forest District Council0/1
North Devon Council0/1
North East Derbyshire District Council0/1
North Hertfordshire District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Pendle Borough Council0/1
Preston City Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rother District Council0/1
Rugby Borough Council0/1
Runnymede Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
Sevenoaks District Council0/1
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Norfolk District Council0/1
South Ribble Borough Council0/1
South Staffordshire Council0/1
Spelthorne Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Tandridge District Council0/1
Teignbridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Test Valley Borough Council0/1
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Three Rivers District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Watford Borough Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Wealden District Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Devon Borough Council0/1
West Lancashire Borough Council0/1
West Lindsey District Council0/1
West Oxfordshire District Council0/1
West Suffolk Council0/1
Woking Borough Council0/1
Worcester City Council0/1
Wychavon District Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1