2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council have a minimum requirement for on-site renewable energy generation for new building development?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
Renewable Energy Generation in New Development
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Two-tier criteria:
Points awarded if the council has a policy for any minimum level of onsite renewable energy generation for new building development.

Further points awarded if the council has a policy that requires 20%, or above, onsite renewable energy generation for new building development.


If this policy is expressed in terms of carbon reduction of energy by requiring the installation of renewable energy, instead of renewable energy usage, then the point would be awarded. A 15% reduction in carbon emissions through installing renewable energy will be treated as equivalent to a 15% requirement for total energy use from installing renewable energy.

If this policy is applied for all new developments but does not apply for small scale developments (in England this is defined as any development under 10 homes) then the council will still score the point.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

109 district councils

1 point

45 district councils

2 points

10 district councils
City of Lincoln Council2/2lincoln.gov.uk
Forest of Dean District Council2/2fdean.gov.uk
Malvern Hills District Council2/2swdevelopmentplan.org
North Kesteven District Council2/2lincoln.gov.uk
South Hams District Council2/2southhams.gov.uk
West Devon Borough Council2/2southhams.gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council2/2lincoln.gov.uk
Winchester City Council2/2winchester.gov.uk
Worcester City Council2/2swdevelopmentplan.org
Wychavon District Council2/2swdevelopmentplan.org
Adur District Council1/2adur-worthing.gov.uk
Amber Valley Borough Council1/2info.ambervalley.gov.uk
Arun District Council1/2arun.gov.uk
Babergh District Council1/2midsuffolk.gov.uk
Brentwood Borough Council1/2brentwood.gov.uk
Cheltenham Borough Council1/2
Chorley Council1/2
Dartford Borough Council1/2dartford.gov.uk
East Cambridgeshire District Council1/2
East Hampshire District Council1/2easthants.gov.uk
East Suffolk Council1/2eastsuffolk.gov.uk
Elmbridge Borough Council1/2consult.elmbridge.gov.uk
Epping Forest District Council1/2eppingforestdc.gov.uk
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council1/2epsom-ewell.inconsult.uk
Exeter City Council1/2cached.offlinehbpl.hbpl.co.uk
Folkestone and Hythe District Council1/2folkestone-hythe.gov.uk
Havant Borough Council1/2cdn.havant.gov.uk
Maidstone Borough Council1/2localplan.maidstone.gov.uk
Melton Borough Council1/2meltonplan.co.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council1/2midsuffolk.gov.uk
North Warwickshire Borough Council1/2northwarks.gov.uk
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council1/2oadby-wigston.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/2oxford.gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council1/2pendle.gov.uk
Preston City Council1/2centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council1/2reigate-banstead.gov.uk
Ribble Valley Borough Council1/2ribblevalley.gov.uk
Rochford District Council1/2rochford.gov.uk
Runnymede Borough Council1/2runnymede.gov.uk
South Cambridgeshire District Council1/2scambs.gov.uk
South Ribble Borough Council1/2centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
South Staffordshire Council1/2sstaffs.gov.uk
Spelthorne Borough Council1/2spelthornelocalplan.info
Stafford Borough Council1/2staffordbc.gov.uk
Stratford-on-Avon District Council1/2stratford.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/2stroud.gov.uk
Teignbridge District Council1/2teignbridge.gov.uk
Tendring District Council1/2tendringdc.gov.uk
Three Rivers District Council1/2threerivers.gov.uk
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council1/2tunbridgewells.gov.uk
Warwick District Council1/2warwickdc.oc2.uk
West Oxfordshire District Council1/2westoxon.gov.uk
West Suffolk Council1/2westsuffolk.inconsult.uk
Worthing Borough Council1/2adur-worthing.gov.uk
Wyre Forest District Council1/2wyreforestdc.gov.uk
Ashfield District Council0/2
Ashford Borough Council0/2
Basildon Borough Council0/2
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/2
Bassetlaw District Council0/2
Blaby District Council0/2
Bolsover District Council0/2
Borough of Broxbourne0/2
Boston Borough Council0/2
Braintree District Council0/2
Breckland District Council0/2
Broadland District Council0/2
Bromsgrove District Council0/2
Broxtowe Borough Council0/2
Burnley Borough Council0/2
Cambridge City Council0/2
Cannock Chase District Council0/2
Canterbury City Council0/2
Castle Point Borough Council0/2
Charnwood Borough Council0/2
Chelmsford City Council0/2
Cherwell District Council0/2
Chesterfield Borough Council0/2
Chichester District Council0/2
Colchester Borough Council0/2
Cotswold District Council0/2
Crawley Borough Council0/2
Dacorum Council0/2
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/2
Dover District Council0/2
Eastbourne Borough Council0/2
East Devon District Council0/2
East Hertfordshire District Council0/2
Eastleigh Borough Council0/2
East Lindsey District Council0/2
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/2
Erewash Borough Council0/2
Fareham Borough Council0/2
Fenland District Council0/2
Fylde Borough Council0/2
Gedling Borough Council0/2
Gloucester City Council0/2
Gosport Borough Council0/2
Gravesham Borough Council0/2
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/2
Guildford Borough Council0/2
Harborough District Council0/2
Harlow Council0/2
Hart District Council0/2
Hastings Borough Council0/2
Hertsmere Borough Council0/2
High Peak Borough Council0/2
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/2
Horsham District Council0/2
Huntingdonshire District Council0/2
Hyndburn Borough Council0/2
Ipswich Borough Council0/2
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/2
Lancaster City Council0/2
Lewes District Council0/2
Lichfield District Council0/2
Maldon District Council0/2
Mansfield District Council0/2
Mid Devon District Council0/2
Mid Sussex District Council0/2
Mole Valley District Council0/2
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/2
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/2
New Forest District Council0/2
North Devon Council0/2
North East Derbyshire District Council0/2
North Hertfordshire District Council0/2
North Norfolk District Council0/2
North West Leicestershire District Council0/2
Norwich City Council0/2
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/2
Redditch Borough Council0/2
Rossendale Borough Council0/2
Rother District Council0/2
Rugby Borough Council0/2
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/2
Rushmoor Borough Council0/2
Sevenoaks District Council0/2
South Derbyshire District Council0/2
South Holland District Council0/2
South Kesteven District Council0/2
South Norfolk District Council0/2
South Oxfordshire District Council0/2
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/2
St Albans City and District Council0/2
Stevenage Borough Council0/2
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/2
Swale Borough Council0/2
Tamworth Borough Council0/2
Tandridge District Council0/2
Test Valley Borough Council0/2
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/2
Thanet District Council0/2
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/2
Torridge District Council0/2
Uttlesford District Council0/2
Vale of White Horse District Council0/2
Watford Borough Council0/2
Waverley Borough Council0/2
Wealden District Council0/2
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/2
West Lancashire Borough Council0/2
Woking Borough Council0/2
Wyre Council0/2