2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council committed to avoiding new building developments on the functional flood plain?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
Flood plain
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Points awarded if the Local Plan states that there is a ban, or avoidance to building on the functional flood plain.

The criteria will also be met if a policy states that any new development will only replace the footprint of current development.


The functional flood plain is defined as a 3b flood plain by local authorities in England and Scotland, and Zone C in Wales: ttps://www.ambiental.co.uk/flood-zones/

The functional flood plain is the most at risk area for flooding.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

105 single tier councils

1 point

77 single tier councils
Aberdeen City Council1/1aberdeencity.gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council1/1aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Angus Council1/1angus.gov.uk
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council1/1barnsley.gov.uk
Bedford Borough Council1/1bedford.gov.uk
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council1/1blackburn-darwen.org.uk
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council1/1blaenau-gwent.gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council1/1bracknell-forest.gov.uk
Bradford Metropolitan District Council1/1bradford.oc2.uk
Buckinghamshire Council1/1buckinghamshire-gov-uk.s3.amazonaws.com
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council1/1bury.gov.uk
Cheshire West and Chester Council1/1cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk
Clackmannanshire Council1/1drive.google.com
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar1/1cne-siar.gov.uk
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/1cornwall.gov.uk
Coventry City Council1/1coventry.gov.uk
Darlington Borough Council1/1microsites.darlington.gov.uk
Derby City Council1/1derby.gov.uk
Dundee City Council1/1dundeecity.gov.uk
Durham County Council1/1durham.gov.uk
East Ayrshire Council1/1east-ayrshire.gov.uk
East Dunbartonshire Council1/1eastdunbarton.gov.uk
East Renfrewshire Council1/1eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk
Halton Borough Council1/1www3.halton.gov.uk
Herefordshire Council1/1herefordshire.gov.uk
Isles of Scilly1/1scilly.gov.uk
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council1/1hull.gov.uk
Kirklees Council1/1kirklees.gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/1leeds.gov.uk
Leicester City Council1/1consultations.leicester.gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/1barnet.gov.uk
London Borough of Bexley1/1bexley.gov.uk
London Borough of Brent1/1brent.gov.uk
London Borough of Camden1/1
London Borough of Croydon1/1croydon.gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/1enfield.gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/1lbhf.gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/1hillingdon.gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth1/1lambeth.gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham1/1lewisham.gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/1merton.gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/1redbridge.gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/1richmond.gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark1/1southwark.gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/1wandsworth.gov.uk
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council1/1merthyr.gov.uk
Midlothian Council1/1midlothian-consult.objective.co.uk
Milton Keynes1/1milton-keynes.gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council1/1monmouthshire.gov.uk
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council1/1npt.gov.uk
Newport City Council1/1newport.gov.uk
North East Lincolnshire Council1/1nelincs.gov.uk
North Lanarkshire Council1/1northlanarkshire.gov.uk
North Northamptonshire Council1/1nnjpu.org.uk
Northumberland Council1/1northumberland.gov.uk
Perth and Kinross Council1/1pkc.gov.uk
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council1/1rotherham.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/1rbwm.gov.uk
Scottish Borders Council1/1scotborders.gov.uk
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council1/1google.com
Sheffield City Council1/1haveyoursay.sheffield.gov.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/1shropshire.gov.uk
South Lanarkshire Council1/1southlanarkshire.gov.uk
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council1/1new.sthelens.gov.uk
Stirling Council1/1stirling.gov.uk
The Highland Council1/1highland.gov.uk
The Moray Council1/1moray.gov.uk
Thurrock Council1/1thurrock.gov.uk
Vale of Glamorgan Council1/1valeofglamorgan.gov.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council1/1wakefield.gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/1westberks.gov.uk
West Dunbartonshire Council1/1wdcweb.blob.core.windows.net
West Lothian Council1/1westlothian.gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/1westminster.gov.uk
Wiltshire Council1/1wiltshire.gov.uk
Wirral Council1/1wirral.gov.uk
Wolverhampton City Council1/1google.com
Argyll and Bute Council0/1
Bath and North East Somerset Council0/1
Birmingham City Council0/1
Blackpool Borough Council0/1
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/1
Bridgend County Borough Council0/1
Brighton and Hove City Council0/1
Bristol City Council0/1
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/1
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Cardiff Council0/1
Carmarthenshire County Council0/1
Central Bedfordshire Council0/1
Ceredigion County Council0/1
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/1
City of Edinburgh Council0/1
City of London0/1
City of York Council0/1
Conwy County Borough Council0/1
Denbighshire County Council0/1
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dorset Council0/1
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/1
East Lothian Council0/1
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/1
Falkirk Council0/1
Fife Council0/1
Flintshire County Council0/1
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Glasgow City Council0/1
Gwynedd County Council0/1
Hartlepool Borough Council0/1
Inverclyde Council0/1
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/1
Isle of Wight Council0/1
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Liverpool City Council0/1
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/1
London Borough of Bromley0/1
London Borough of Ealing0/1
London Borough of Hackney0/1
London Borough of Haringey0/1
London Borough of Harrow0/1
London Borough of Havering0/1
London Borough of Hounslow0/1
London Borough of Islington0/1
London Borough of Newham0/1
London Borough of Sutton0/1
London Borough of Tower Hamlets0/1
London Borough of Waltham Forest0/1
Luton Borough Council0/1
Manchester City Council0/1
Medway Council0/1
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/1
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/1
North Ayrshire Council0/1
North Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Somerset Council0/1
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Nottingham City Council0/1
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Orkney Islands Council0/1
Pembrokeshire County Council0/1
Peterborough City Council0/1
Plymouth City Council0/1
Portsmouth City Council0/1
Powys County Council0/1
Reading Borough Council0/1
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/1
Renfrewshire Council0/1
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/1
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Royal Borough of Greenwich0/1
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea0/1
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames0/1
Rutland County Council0/1
Salford City Council0/1
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Shetland Islands Council0/1
Slough Borough Council0/1
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Southampton City Council0/1
South Ayrshire Council0/1
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/1
South Gloucestershire Council0/1
South Tyneside Council0/1
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/1
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/1
Sunderland City Council0/1
Swansea City Council0/1
Swindon Borough Council0/1
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Telford & Wrekin Council0/1
Torbay Council0/1
Torfaen County Borough Council0/1
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Warrington Borough Council0/1
West Northamptonshire Council0/1
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Wokingham Borough Council0/1
Wrexham County Borough Council0/1