2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council require a higher level of water efficiency for all new homes?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
New Builds - Water Efficiency
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Points awarded if the council requires the lower level of water use - stated as 110 litres per person per day - for new homes.

This would be the same as Scottish councils requiring "Silver standard" or "Gold standard" as a minimum for new homes.


The council doesn't have to be defined as in a water stressed area to adopt the 110 litres per person per day standard for new build development but a clear local need should be demonstrated. It should be noted that over half of England is defined as in a water stressed area: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/water-stressed-areas-2021-classification

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

90 single tier councils

1 point

91 single tier councils
Aberdeen City Council1/1aberdeencity.gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council1/1aberdeenshire.gov.uk
Bath and North East Somerset Council1/1beta.bathnes.gov.uk
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council1/1blackburn-darwen.org.uk
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council1/1blaenau-gwent.gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council1/1bracknell-forest.gov.uk
Bridgend County Borough Council1/1
Brighton and Hove City Council1/1brighton-hove.gov.uk
Bristol City Council1/1bristol.gov.uk
Buckinghamshire Council1/1buckinghamshire-gov-uk.s3.amazonaws.com
Caerphilly County Borough Council1/1
Cardiff Council1/1cardiffldp.co.uk
Carmarthenshire County Council1/1
Central Bedfordshire Council1/1centralbedfordshire.gov.uk
Ceredigion County Council1/1
Cheshire West and Chester Council1/1consult.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk
City of London1/1london.gov.uk
City of York Council1/1york.gov.uk
Conwy County Borough Council1/1
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/1cornwall.gov.uk
Denbighshire County Council1/1
East Ayrshire Council1/1east-ayrshire.gov.uk
East Dunbartonshire Council1/1eastdunbarton.gov.uk
East Renfrewshire Council1/1eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk
Flintshire County Council1/1
Glasgow City Council1/1glasgow.gov.uk
Gwynedd County Council1/1
Herefordshire Council1/1herefordshire.gov.uk
Isle of Anglesey County Council1/1
Isle of Wight Council1/1iow.gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/1leeds.gov.uk
Leicester City Council1/1consultations.leicester.gov.uk
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham1/1lbbd.gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/1barnet.gov.uk
London Borough of Bexley1/1bexley.gov.uk
London Borough of Brent1/1legacy.brent.gov.uk
London Borough of Camden1/1camden.gov.uk
London Borough of Croydon1/1croydon.gov.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/1london.gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney1/1drive.google.com
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/1lbhf.gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/1hillingdon.gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/1lbhounslow.sharepoint.com
London Borough of Islington1/1islington.gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth1/1lambeth.gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham1/1assets.publishing.service.gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/1merton.gov.uk
London Borough of Newham1/1newham.gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/1redbridge.gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/1richmond.gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark1/1southwark.gov.uk
London Borough of Sutton1/1drive.google.com
London Borough of Tower Hamlets1/1towerhamlets.gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest1/1walthamforest.gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/1wandsworth.gov.uk
Luton Borough Council1/1luton.gov.uk
Medway Council1/1medway.gov.uk
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council1/1
Milton Keynes1/1milton-keynes.gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council1/1monmouthshire.gov.uk
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council1/1gov.wales
Newport City Council1/1newport.gov.uk
North East Lincolnshire Council1/1nelincs.gov.uk
North Lanarkshire Council1/1northlanarkshire.gov.uk
North Lincolnshire Council1/1m.northlincs.gov.uk
North Northamptonshire Council1/1nnjpu.org.uk
Nottingham City Council1/1nottinghamcity.gov.uk
Pembrokeshire County Council1/1pembrokeshire.gov.uk
Peterborough City Council1/1cccandpcc.sharepoint.com
Powys County Council1/1gov.wales
Reading Borough Council1/1images.reading.gov.uk
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council1/1gov.wales
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council1/1rotherham.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich1/1royalgreenwich.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/1planningconsult.rbkc.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames1/1kingstonletstalk.co.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/1rbwm.gov.uk
Sheffield City Council1/1haveyoursay.sheffield.gov.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/1shropshire.gov.uk
Southampton City Council1/1southampton.gov.uk
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council1/1ca1-spp.edcdn.com
Swansea City Council1/1
Torfaen County Borough Council1/1gov.wales
Vale of Glamorgan Council1/1
West Berkshire Council1/1westberks.gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/1westminster.gov.uk
West Northamptonshire Council1/1westnorthants.gov.uk
Wiltshire Council1/1wiltshire.gov.uk
Wirral Council1/1wirral.gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council1/1wokingham.gov.uk
Wrexham County Borough Council1/1
Angus Council0/1
Argyll and Bute Council0/1
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bedford Borough Council0/1
Birmingham City Council0/1
Blackpool Borough Council0/1
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/1
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/1
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/1
City of Edinburgh Council0/1
Clackmannanshire Council0/1
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/1
Coventry City Council0/1
Darlington Borough Council0/1
Derby City Council0/1
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dorset Council0/1
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/1
Dundee City Council0/1
Durham County Council0/1
East Lothian Council0/1
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/1
Falkirk Council0/1
Fife Council0/1
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Halton Borough Council0/1
Hartlepool Borough Council0/1
Inverclyde Council0/1
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/1
Kirklees Council0/1
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Liverpool City Council0/1
London Borough of Bromley0/1
London Borough of Enfield0/1
London Borough of Haringey0/1
London Borough of Harrow0/1
London Borough of Havering0/1
Manchester City Council0/1
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/1
Midlothian Council0/1
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/1
North Ayrshire Council0/1
North Somerset Council0/1
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Northumberland Council0/1
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Orkney Islands Council0/1
Perth and Kinross Council0/1
Plymouth City Council0/1
Portsmouth City Council0/1
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/1
Renfrewshire Council0/1
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Rutland County Council0/1
Salford City Council0/1
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Scottish Borders Council0/1
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Shetland Islands Council0/1
Slough Borough Council0/1
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
South Ayrshire Council0/1
South Gloucestershire Council0/1
South Lanarkshire Council0/1
South Tyneside Council0/1
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stirling Council0/1
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/1
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/1
Sunderland City Council0/1
Swindon Borough Council0/1
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Telford & Wrekin Council0/1
The Highland Council0/1
The Moray Council0/1
Thurrock Council0/1
Torbay Council0/1
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/1
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Warrington Borough Council0/1
West Dunbartonshire Council0/1
West Lothian Council0/1
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Wolverhampton City Council0/1