2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council require developers to carry out a whole life cycle carbon assessment of new build developments?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
New Builds - Embodied Emissions
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Points awarded if the council requires developers to carry out a whole life cycle carbon assessment for new developments.


Whole Life-Cycle Carbon (WLC) emissions are the carbon emissions resulting from the materials, construction and the use of a building over its entire life, including its demolition and disposal. A WLC assessment provides a true picture of a building’s carbon impact on the environment. For example it takes account of the embodied energy of the materials.

If this policy is applied for all new developments but does not apply for small scale developments (in England this is defined as any development under 10 homes) then the council will still score the point.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

139 district councils

1 point

25 district councils
Canterbury City Council1/1drive.google.com
Chorley Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
City of Lincoln Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
Dartford Borough Council1/1dartford.gov.uk
Dover District Council1/1doverdistrictlocalplan.co.uk
East Devon District Council1/1eastdevon.gov.uk
Exeter City Council1/1cached.offlinehbpl.hbpl.co.uk
Hertsmere Borough Council1/1hertsmere.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/1lancaster.gov.uk
Maidstone Borough Council1/1drive.google.com
Malvern Hills District Council1/1swdevelopmentplan.org
North Kesteven District Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
Preston City Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council1/1reigate-banstead.gov.uk
South Hams District Council1/1southhams.gov.uk
South Ribble Borough Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
South Staffordshire Council1/1sstaffs.gov.uk
Stafford Borough Council1/1staffordbc.gov.uk
Vale of White Horse District Council1/1data.southoxon.gov.uk
Warwick District Council1/1warwickdc.oc2.uk
West Devon Borough Council1/1southhams.gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
West Suffolk Council1/1westsuffolk.inconsult.uk
Worcester City Council1/1swdevelopmentplan.org
Wychavon District Council1/1swdevelopmentplan.org
Adur District Council0/1
Amber Valley Borough Council0/1
Arun District Council0/1
Ashfield District Council0/1
Ashford Borough Council0/1
Babergh District Council0/1
Basildon Borough Council0/1
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/1
Bassetlaw District Council0/1
Blaby District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Borough of Broxbourne0/1
Boston Borough Council0/1
Braintree District Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Broadland District Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Broxtowe Borough Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cambridge City Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Castle Point Borough Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Chelmsford City Council0/1
Cheltenham Borough Council0/1
Cherwell District Council0/1
Chesterfield Borough Council0/1
Chichester District Council0/1
Colchester Borough Council0/1
Cotswold District Council0/1
Crawley Borough Council0/1
Dacorum Council0/1
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/1
Eastbourne Borough Council0/1
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
Eastleigh Borough Council0/1
East Lindsey District Council0/1
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/1
East Suffolk Council0/1
Elmbridge Borough Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/1
Erewash Borough Council0/1
Fareham Borough Council0/1
Fenland District Council0/1
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/1
Forest of Dean District Council0/1
Fylde Borough Council0/1
Gedling Borough Council0/1
Gloucester City Council0/1
Gosport Borough Council0/1
Gravesham Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Harborough District Council0/1
Harlow Council0/1
Hart District Council0/1
Hastings Borough Council0/1
Havant Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
Huntingdonshire District Council0/1
Hyndburn Borough Council0/1
Ipswich Borough Council0/1
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/1
Lewes District Council0/1
Lichfield District Council0/1
Maldon District Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Melton Borough Council0/1
Mid Devon District Council0/1
Mid Suffolk District Council0/1
Mid Sussex District Council0/1
Mole Valley District Council0/1
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/1
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/1
New Forest District Council0/1
North Devon Council0/1
North East Derbyshire District Council0/1
North Hertfordshire District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/1
North West Leicestershire District Council0/1
Norwich City Council0/1
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Oxford City Council0/1
Pendle Borough Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rother District Council0/1
Rugby Borough Council0/1
Runnymede Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
Sevenoaks District Council0/1
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Norfolk District Council0/1
South Oxfordshire District Council0/1
Spelthorne Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
St Albans City and District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Stratford-on-Avon District Council0/1
Stroud District Council0/1
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/1
Swale Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Tandridge District Council0/1
Teignbridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Test Valley Borough Council0/1
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Three Rivers District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Watford Borough Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Wealden District Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Lancashire Borough Council0/1
West Oxfordshire District Council0/1
Winchester City Council0/1
Woking Borough Council0/1
Worthing Borough Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1