2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Is the council's area wide net zero target a strategic objective of the Local Plan?

Question code
Planning & Land Use
Net-zero in Local Plan
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Points awarded if the Local Plan includes:
- reaching net zero as a strategic objective of the Local Plan
- The council's net zero target date is also found within the Plan.

The net-zero target must be an area wide net-zero target.


Reaching net-zero must be part of the strategic objectives listed initially in the council's Local Plan - even if the target date is not listed in the strategic objective. This is because the objectives are broader and Joint Local Plans may have different targets between the local authorities.

We will accept other language for target dates, including carbon neutrality or the carbon budget the council has committed to stay within.

If the Local Plan references a national net-zero target it must still be a strategic objective of the local plan to meet the national target, rather than the national target just being stated.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

133 district councils

1 point

31 district councils
Babergh District Council1/1midsuffolk.gov.uk
Bassetlaw District Council1/1bassetlaw.gov.uk
Chorley Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
City of Lincoln Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
Crawley Borough Council1/1crawley.gov.uk
Dover District Council1/1doverdistrictlocalplan.co.uk
East Devon District Council1/1eastdevon.gov.uk
Exeter City Council1/1cached.offlinehbpl.hbpl.co.uk
Gosport Borough Council1/1gosport.gov.uk
Hastings Borough Council1/1hastings.oc2.uk
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council1/1hinckley-bosworth.gov.uk
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council1/1west-norfolk.gov.uk
Lancaster City Council1/1lancaster.gov.uk
Maidstone Borough Council1/1localplan.maidstone.gov.uk
Mid Suffolk District Council1/1midsuffolk.gov.uk
North Kesteven District Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
Oxford City Council1/1oxford.gov.uk
Pendle Borough Council1/1pendle.gov.uk
Preston City Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
Rugby Borough Council1/1rugby.gov.uk
Sevenoaks District Council1/1engagement.sevenoaks.gov.uk
South Ribble Borough Council1/1centrallocalplan.lancashire.gov.uk
Stroud District Council1/1stroud.gov.uk
Surrey Heath Borough Council1/1surreyheathplanningpolicy.inconsult.uk
Test Valley Borough Council1/1testvalley.gov.uk
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council1/1tunbridgewells.gov.uk
Watford Borough Council1/1watford.gov.uk
West Lindsey District Council1/1lincoln.gov.uk
West Suffolk Council1/1westsuffolk.inconsult.uk
Winchester City Council1/1winchester.gov.uk
Worcester City Council1/1
Adur District Council0/1
Amber Valley Borough Council0/1
Arun District Council0/1
Ashfield District Council0/1
Ashford Borough Council0/1
Basildon Borough Council0/1
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council0/1
Blaby District Council0/1
Bolsover District Council0/1
Borough of Broxbourne0/1
Boston Borough Council0/1
Braintree District Council0/1
Breckland District Council0/1
Brentwood Borough Council0/1
Broadland District Council0/1
Bromsgrove District Council0/1
Broxtowe Borough Council0/1
Burnley Borough Council0/1
Cambridge City Council0/1
Cannock Chase District Council0/1
Canterbury City Council0/1
Castle Point Borough Council0/1
Charnwood Borough Council0/1
Chelmsford City Council0/1
Cheltenham Borough Council0/1
Cherwell District Council0/1
Chesterfield Borough Council0/1
Chichester District Council0/1
Colchester Borough Council0/1
Cotswold District Council0/1
Dacorum Council0/1
Dartford Borough Council0/1
Derbyshire Dales District Council0/1
Eastbourne Borough Council0/1
East Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
East Hampshire District Council0/1
East Hertfordshire District Council0/1
Eastleigh Borough Council0/1
East Lindsey District Council0/1
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/1
East Suffolk Council0/1
Elmbridge Borough Council0/1
Epping Forest District Council0/1
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council0/1
Erewash Borough Council0/1
Fareham Borough Council0/1
Fenland District Council0/1
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/1
Forest of Dean District Council0/1
Fylde Borough Council0/1
Gedling Borough Council0/1
Gloucester City Council0/1
Gravesham Borough Council0/1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/1
Guildford Borough Council0/1
Harborough District Council0/1
Harlow Council0/1
Hart District Council0/1
Havant Borough Council0/1
Hertsmere Borough Council0/1
High Peak Borough Council0/1
Horsham District Council0/1
Huntingdonshire District Council0/1
Hyndburn Borough Council0/1
Ipswich Borough Council0/1
Lewes District Council0/1
Lichfield District Council0/1
Maldon District Council0/1
Malvern Hills District Council0/1
Mansfield District Council0/1
Melton Borough Council0/1
Mid Devon District Council0/1
Mid Sussex District Council0/1
Mole Valley District Council0/1
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/1
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council0/1
New Forest District Council0/1
North Devon Council0/1
North East Derbyshire District Council0/1
North Hertfordshire District Council0/1
North Norfolk District Council0/1
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/1
North West Leicestershire District Council0/1
Norwich City Council0/1
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/1
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/1
Redditch Borough Council0/1
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/1
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/1
Rochford District Council0/1
Rossendale Borough Council0/1
Rother District Council0/1
Runnymede Borough Council0/1
Rushcliffe Borough Council0/1
Rushmoor Borough Council0/1
South Cambridgeshire District Council0/1
South Derbyshire District Council0/1
South Hams District Council0/1
South Holland District Council0/1
South Kesteven District Council0/1
South Norfolk District Council0/1
South Oxfordshire District Council0/1
South Staffordshire Council0/1
Spelthorne Borough Council0/1
Stafford Borough Council0/1
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/1
St Albans City and District Council0/1
Stevenage Borough Council0/1
Stratford-on-Avon District Council0/1
Swale Borough Council0/1
Tamworth Borough Council0/1
Tandridge District Council0/1
Teignbridge District Council0/1
Tendring District Council0/1
Tewkesbury Borough Council0/1
Thanet District Council0/1
Three Rivers District Council0/1
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council0/1
Torridge District Council0/1
Uttlesford District Council0/1
Vale of White Horse District Council0/1
Warwick District Council0/1
Waverley Borough Council0/1
Wealden District Council0/1
Welwyn Hatfield Council0/1
West Devon Borough Council0/1
West Lancashire Borough Council0/1
West Oxfordshire District Council0/1
Woking Borough Council0/1
Worthing Borough Council0/1
Wychavon District Council0/1
Wyre Council0/1
Wyre Forest District Council0/1