2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Does the council's Clean Air Zone or Low Emission Zone require charges for private vehicles?

Question code
Clean Air Zone
Volunteer Research
Question weight


Criteria met if a council has implemented a Clean Air Zone or Low Emission Zone that has been in operation since 2019 and it charges for private vehicles.

For this question the Clean Air Zone or Low Emission Zone does have to require charges for private vehicles.


A Clean Air Zone or Low Emission Zone is where targeted action is being taken to improve air quality and reduce the number of polluting vehicles and is usually defined over a certain area, such as a city centre.

To be awarded points in the Scorecards the zone must be more than one street

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

143 single tier councils

1 point

39 single tier councils
Aberdeen City Council1/1aberdeencity.gov.uk
Birmingham City Council1/1brumbreathes.co.uk
Bristol City Council1/1
City of Edinburgh Council1/1edinburgh.gov.uk
City of London1/1tfl.gov.uk
Dundee City Council1/1dundeecity.gov.uk
Glasgow City Council1/1glasgow.gov.uk
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Bexley1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Brent1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Bromley1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Camden1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Croydon1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney1/1hackney.gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/1
London Borough of Haringey1/1haringey.gov.uk
London Borough of Harrow1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Havering1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/1hillingdon.gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Islington1/1islington.gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Newham1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/1gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/1richmond.gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Sutton1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Tower Hamlets1/1tfl.gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest1/1walthamforest.gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/1tfl.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich1/1tfl.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/1tfl.gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames1/1kingston.gov.uk
Westminster City Council1/1tfl.gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council0/1
Angus Council0/1
Argyll and Bute Council0/1
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bath and North East Somerset Council0/1
Bedford Borough Council0/1
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/1
Blackpool Borough Council0/1
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council0/1
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/1
Bracknell Forest Council0/1
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/1
Bridgend County Borough Council0/1
Brighton and Hove City Council0/1
Buckinghamshire Council0/1
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/1
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Cardiff Council0/1
Carmarthenshire County Council0/1
Central Bedfordshire Council0/1
Ceredigion County Council0/1
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/1
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/1
City of York Council0/1
Clackmannanshire Council0/1
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/1
Conwy County Borough Council0/1
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/1
Coventry City Council0/1
Darlington Borough Council0/1
Denbighshire County Council0/1
Derby City Council0/1
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dorset Council0/1
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/1
Durham County Council0/1
East Ayrshire Council0/1
East Dunbartonshire Council0/1
East Lothian Council0/1
East Renfrewshire Council0/1
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/1
Falkirk Council0/1
Fife Council0/1
Flintshire County Council0/1
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Gwynedd County Council0/1
Halton Borough Council0/1
Hartlepool Borough Council0/1
Herefordshire Council0/1
Inverclyde Council0/1
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/1
Isle of Wight Council0/1
Isles of Scilly0/1
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/1
Kirklees Council0/1
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Leeds City Council0/1
Leicester City Council0/1
Liverpool City Council0/1
Luton Borough Council0/1
Manchester City Council0/1
Medway Council0/1
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/1
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/1
Midlothian Council0/1
Milton Keynes0/1
Monmouthshire County Council0/1
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/1
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/1
Newport City Council0/1
North Ayrshire Council0/1
North East Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Lanarkshire Council0/1
North Lincolnshire Council0/1
North Northamptonshire Council0/1
North Somerset Council0/1
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Northumberland Council0/1
Nottingham City Council0/1
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Orkney Islands Council0/1
Pembrokeshire County Council0/1
Perth and Kinross Council0/1
Peterborough City Council0/1
Plymouth City Council0/1
Portsmouth City Council0/1
Powys County Council0/1
Reading Borough Council0/1
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/1
Renfrewshire Council0/1
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/1
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead0/1
Rutland County Council0/1
Salford City Council0/1
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Scottish Borders Council0/1
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Sheffield City Council0/1
Shetland Islands Council0/1
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/1
Slough Borough Council0/1
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Southampton City Council0/1
South Ayrshire Council0/1
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/1
South Gloucestershire Council0/1
South Lanarkshire Council0/1
South Tyneside Council0/1
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stirling Council0/1
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council0/1
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/1
Sunderland City Council0/1
Swansea City Council0/1
Swindon Borough Council0/1
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Telford & Wrekin Council0/1
The Highland Council0/1
The Moray Council0/1
Thurrock Council0/1
Torbay Council0/1
Torfaen County Borough Council0/1
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/1
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/1
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Warrington Borough Council0/1
West Berkshire Council0/1
West Dunbartonshire Council0/1
West Lothian Council0/1
West Northamptonshire Council0/1
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/1
Wiltshire Council0/1
Wirral Council0/1
Wokingham Borough Council0/1
Wolverhampton City Council0/1
Wrexham County Borough Council0/1