2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council supported the expansion of a public network of electric vehicle chargers?

Question code
EV charging
National Data
Question weight


Two-tier criteria
Points awarded if the council has over 60 public chargers per 100,000 residents.

Further points awarded if the council has over 434 chargers per 100,000 residents.


This question is marked using the UK Government's data on publicly available EV chargers within the council's area. This includes all publicly available EV chargers, rather than just council owned or installed, as councils would still have to approve any public EV charger in their area.

We have chosen the two tier criteria to challenge councils. 60 public chargers per 100,000 residents has been achieved by a significant number of councils but many have also not yet reached this level.

The higher level of 434 chargers is based on the UK Government's 2030 target for 300,000 public EV chargers. To achieve the same format we divided (300,000 by the Office for National Statistics 2030 projected population 69.2 million) and multiplied this figure by 100,000. Rounding to the nearest EV charger gave us 434 chargers per 100,000 residents.

Marked using Zap Maps - https://www.zap-map.com/ - publicly available data on EV chargers, which is available using the UK Government - https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/electric-vehicle-charging-device-statistics-july-2022. Please note, we will use the most recent available data in the 2023 scoring process.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

106 single tier councils

1 point

76 single tier councils

2 points

4 single tier councils
City of London2/2gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark2/2gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea2/2gov.uk
Westminster City Council2/2gov.uk
Aberdeen City Council1/2gov.uk
Angus Council1/2gov.uk
Argyll and Bute Council1/2gov.uk
Bedford Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council1/2gov.uk
Carmarthenshire County Council1/2gov.uk
Ceredigion County Council1/2gov.uk
City of York Council1/2gov.uk
Clackmannanshire Council1/2gov.uk
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar1/2gov.uk
Cornwall Council (Unitary)1/2gov.uk
Coventry City Council1/2gov.uk
Cumberland Council1/2gov.uk
Darlington Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Denbighshire County Council1/2gov.uk
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Dumfries and Galloway Council1/2gov.uk
Dundee City Council1/2gov.uk
East Ayrshire Council1/2gov.uk
East Lothian Council1/2gov.uk
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Gwynedd County Council1/2gov.uk
Isle of Anglesey County Council1/2gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/2gov.uk
Liverpool City Council1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Barnet1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Brent1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Camden1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Croydon1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Islington1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Sutton1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Tower Hamlets1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest1/2gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth1/2gov.uk
Midlothian Council1/2gov.uk
Milton Keynes1/2gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council1/2gov.uk
Newport City Council1/2gov.uk
Northumberland Council1/2gov.uk
North Yorkshire Council1/2gov.uk
Nottingham City Council1/2gov.uk
Orkney Islands Council1/2gov.uk
Pembrokeshire County Council1/2gov.uk
Perth and Kinross Council1/2gov.uk
Powys County Council1/2gov.uk
Reading Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Renfrewshire Council1/2gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich1/2gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames1/2gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/2gov.uk
Scottish Borders Council1/2gov.uk
Shetland Islands Council1/2gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council1/2gov.uk
South Ayrshire Council1/2gov.uk
South Gloucestershire Council1/2gov.uk
South Lanarkshire Council1/2gov.uk
Stirling Council1/2gov.uk
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Sunderland City Council1/2gov.uk
The Highland Council1/2gov.uk
The Moray Council1/2gov.uk
Warrington Borough Council1/2gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/2gov.uk
Westmorland and Furness Council1/2gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council1/2gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council0/2
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Bath and North East Somerset Council0/2
Birmingham City Council0/2
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council0/2
Blackpool Borough Council0/2
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council0/2
Bracknell Forest Council0/2
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/2
Bridgend County Borough Council0/2
Bristol City Council0/2
Buckinghamshire Council0/2
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Caerphilly County Borough Council0/2
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Cardiff Council0/2
Central Bedfordshire Council0/2
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)0/2
Cheshire West and Chester Council0/2
City of Edinburgh Council0/2
Conwy County Borough Council0/2
Derby City Council0/2
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Dorset Council0/2
Durham County Council0/2
East Dunbartonshire Council0/2
East Renfrewshire Council0/2
East Riding of Yorkshire Council0/2
Falkirk Council0/2
Fife Council0/2
Flintshire County Council0/2
Glasgow City Council0/2
Halton Borough Council0/2
Hartlepool Borough Council0/2
Herefordshire Council0/2
Inverclyde Council0/2
Isle of Wight Council0/2
Isles of Scilly0/2
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council0/2
Kirklees Council0/2
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Leicester City Council0/2
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham0/2
London Borough of Bexley0/2
London Borough of Bromley0/2
London Borough of Haringey0/2
London Borough of Harrow0/2
London Borough of Havering0/2
London Borough of Newham0/2
London Borough of Redbridge0/2
Luton Borough Council0/2
Manchester City Council0/2
Medway Council0/2
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council0/2
Middlesbrough Borough Council0/2
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council0/2
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council0/2
North Ayrshire Council0/2
North East Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Lanarkshire Council0/2
North Lincolnshire Council0/2
North Northamptonshire Council0/2
North Somerset Council0/2
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Peterborough City Council0/2
Plymouth City Council0/2
Portsmouth City Council0/2
Redcar and Cleveland Council0/2
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council0/2
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Rutland County Council0/2
Salford City Council0/2
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Sheffield City Council0/2
Shropshire Council - Unitary0/2
Slough Borough Council0/2
Somerset Council0/2
Southampton City Council0/2
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/2
South Tyneside Council0/2
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/2
Swansea City Council0/2
Swindon Borough Council0/2
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Telford & Wrekin Council0/2
Thurrock Council0/2
Torbay Council0/2
Torfaen County Borough Council0/2
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Vale of Glamorgan Council0/2
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council0/2
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
West Dunbartonshire Council0/2
West Lothian Council0/2
West Northamptonshire Council0/2
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council0/2
Wiltshire Council0/2
Wirral Council0/2
Wolverhampton City Council0/2
Wrexham County Borough Council0/2