2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Has the council supported the expansion of a public network of electric vehicle chargers?

Question code
EV charging
National Data
Question weight


Two-tier criteria
Points awarded if the council has over 60 public chargers per 100,000 residents.

Further points awarded if the council has over 434 chargers per 100,000 residents.


This question is marked using the UK Government's data on publicly available EV chargers within the council's area. This includes all publicly available EV chargers, rather than just council owned or installed, as councils would still have to approve any public EV charger in their area.

We have chosen the two tier criteria to challenge councils. 60 public chargers per 100,000 residents has been achieved by a significant number of councils but many have also not yet reached this level.

The higher level of 434 chargers is based on the UK Government's 2030 target for 300,000 public EV chargers. To achieve the same format we divided (300,000 by the Office for National Statistics 2030 projected population 69.2 million) and multiplied this figure by 100,000. Rounding to the nearest EV charger gave us 434 chargers per 100,000 residents.

Marked using Zap Maps - https://www.zap-map.com/ - publicly available data on EV chargers, which is available using the UK Government - https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/electric-vehicle-charging-device-statistics-july-2022. Please note, we will use the most recent available data in the 2023 scoring process.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

11 Northern Irish councils

1 point

0 Northern Irish councils

2 points

0 Northern Irish councils
Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council0/2
Ards and North Down Borough Council0/2
Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council0/2
Belfast City Council0/2
Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council0/2
Derry City and Strabane District Council0/2
Fermanagh and Omagh District Council0/2
Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council0/2
Mid and East Antrim Borough Council0/2
Mid Ulster District Council0/2
Newry, Mourne and Down District Council0/2