2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Are the homes and buildings in the council area energy efficient?

Question code
Buildings & Heating
EPC ratings - whole area
National Data
Question weight


Three Tier Criteria
Criteria met if 50% or more of buildings in the area that have an EPC rating are rated C or above.
Additional points awarded if the more than 60% and then more than 90% of buildings in the area that have an EPC rating are rated C or above.


Environmental Performance Certificates (EPCs) show home buyers or tenants how energy efficient the building is. The EPC contains information on potential energy costs and carbon dioxide emissions.

Not all buildings in the area have an EPC rating. We will be looking at only the ratings of the buildings that do have a rating.

Marked using data provided by UK Government, Scottish EPC Register and the Department of Finance NI

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

36 single tier councils

1 point

72 single tier councils

2 points

74 single tier councils

3 points

0 single tier councils
Aberdeen City Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Bath and North East Somerset Council2/3gov.uk
Bedford Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Bracknell Forest Council2/3gov.uk
Central Bedfordshire Council2/3gov.uk
City of Edinburgh Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
City of London2/3gov.uk
Clackmannanshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Dorset Council2/3gov.uk
Dundee City Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Durham County Council2/3gov.uk
East Ayrshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
East Renfrewshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Falkirk Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Glasgow City Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Halton Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Hartlepool Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Inverclyde Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Kingston-upon-Hull City Council2/3gov.uk
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Liverpool City Council2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Brent2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Camden2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hackney2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Haringey2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hounslow2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Islington2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Lambeth2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Lewisham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Newham2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Southwark2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Tower Hamlets2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Waltham Forest2/3gov.uk
London Borough of Wandsworth2/3gov.uk
Luton Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Manchester City Council2/3gov.uk
Midlothian Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Milton Keynes2/3gov.uk
Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council2/3gov.uk
Newport City Council2/3gov.uk
North Lanarkshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
North Northamptonshire Council2/3gov.uk
North Somerset Council2/3gov.uk
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Peterborough City Council2/3gov.uk
Plymouth City Council2/3gov.uk
Renfrewshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Greenwich2/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames2/3gov.uk
Salford City Council2/3gov.uk
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Slough Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Southampton City Council2/3gov.uk
South Gloucestershire Council2/3gov.uk
Stirling Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Sunderland City Council2/3gov.uk
Swindon Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Telford & Wrekin Council2/3gov.uk
Torfaen County Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council2/3gov.uk
Warrington Borough Council2/3gov.uk
West Dunbartonshire Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
West Lothian Council2/3statistics.gov.scot
Westminster City Council2/3gov.uk
Wokingham Borough Council2/3gov.uk
Aberdeenshire Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
Angus Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
Birmingham City Council1/3gov.uk
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Bridgend County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Brighton and Hove City Council1/3gov.uk
Bristol City Council1/3gov.uk
Buckinghamshire Council1/3gov.uk
Caerphilly County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Cardiff Council1/3gov.uk
Cheshire East Council (Unitary)1/3gov.uk
Cheshire West and Chester Council1/3gov.uk
Coventry City Council1/3gov.uk
Denbighshire County Council1/3gov.uk
Derby City Council1/3gov.uk
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
East Dunbartonshire Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
East Lothian Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
East Riding of Yorkshire Council1/3gov.uk
Fife Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Herefordshire Council1/3gov.uk
Isle of Wight Council1/3gov.uk
Kirklees Council1/3gov.uk
Leeds City Council1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Croydon1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Ealing1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Enfield1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Harrow1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Hillingdon1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Merton1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Redbridge1/3gov.uk
London Borough of Sutton1/3gov.uk
Medway Council1/3gov.uk
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Middlesbrough Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council1/3gov.uk
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
North Ayrshire Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
North East Lincolnshire Council1/3gov.uk
Northumberland Council1/3gov.uk
Nottingham City Council1/3gov.uk
Perth and Kinross Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
Portsmouth City Council1/3gov.uk
Reading Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Redcar and Cleveland Council1/3gov.uk
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea1/3gov.uk
Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead1/3gov.uk
Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Sheffield City Council1/3gov.uk
Shropshire Council - Unitary1/3gov.uk
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
South Ayrshire Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
South Lanarkshire Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
South Tyneside Council1/3gov.uk
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Swansea City Council1/3gov.uk
The Moray Council1/3statistics.gov.scot
Thurrock Council1/3gov.uk
Torbay Council1/3gov.uk
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Vale of Glamorgan Council1/3gov.uk
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
West Berkshire Council1/3gov.uk
West Northamptonshire Council1/3gov.uk
Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Wiltshire Council1/3gov.uk
Wirral Council1/3gov.uk
Wrexham County Borough Council1/3gov.uk
Argyll and Bute Council0/3
Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Blackpool Borough Council0/3
Bradford Metropolitan District Council0/3
Bury Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Carmarthenshire County Council0/3
Ceredigion County Council0/3
City of York Council0/3
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar0/3
Conwy County Borough Council0/3
Cornwall Council (Unitary)0/3
Darlington Borough Council0/3
Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council0/3
Dumfries and Galloway Council0/3
Flintshire County Council0/3
Gwynedd County Council0/3
Isle of Anglesey County Council0/3
Isles of Scilly0/3
Leicester City Council0/3
London Borough of Barnet0/3
London Borough of Bexley0/3
London Borough of Bromley0/3
London Borough of Havering0/3
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames0/3
North Lincolnshire Council0/3
Orkney Islands Council0/3
Pembrokeshire County Council0/3
Powys County Council0/3
Rutland County Council0/3
Scottish Borders Council0/3
Shetland Islands Council0/3
Southend-on-Sea Borough Council0/3
Stoke-on-Trent City Council0/3
The Highland Council0/3
Wolverhampton City Council0/3