2023 Action Scorecards

Action Scorecards 2023

Question: Are the council's operations powered by renewable energy?

Question code
Buildings & Heating
Council buildings - renewable energy tariff
Question weight


Criteria met if the council has a green tariff that is 100% renewable or if the council creates its own energy equivalent to 20% of more of its energy consumption through energy from waste.

Additional points awarded if the council has a green tariff with Green Energy UK plc, Good Energy Limited or Ecotricity, or if the council creates its own renewable energy equivalent to 20% or its energy consumption. This could be through on-site energy generation, or if the council has built or bought a solar/wind farm elsewhere.


This includes all energy that the council is directly responsible for, in council offices and any other buildings leased and managed by the council where the council pays the energy tariff.
This includes all electricity used in these buildings (not gas).
This does not include homes owned or managed by the council.

Question performance

Or show scores by type of council

0 points

69 district councils

1 point

91 district councils

2 points

4 district councils
Exeter City Council2/2whatdotheyknow.com
Forest of Dean District Council2/2whatdotheyknow.com
Lancaster City Council2/2storymaps.arcgis.com
Spelthorne Borough Council2/2whatdotheyknow.com
Adur District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Amber Valley Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Arun District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Ashfield District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Babergh District Council1/2
Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Blaby District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Bolsover District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Boston Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Brentwood Borough Council1/2brentwood.gov.uk
Bromsgrove District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Broxtowe Borough Council1/2broxtowe.gov.uk
Cambridge City Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Castle Point Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Charnwood Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Cheltenham Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Chesterfield Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Chichester District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Cotswold District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Dacorum Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Derbyshire Dales District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Dover District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Eastbourne Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
East Cambridgeshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
East Devon District Council1/2
East Hampshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
East Hertfordshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Eastleigh Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
East Suffolk Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Elmbridge Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Epping Forest District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Epsom and Ewell Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Erewash Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Fareham Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Fylde Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Gedling Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Gloucester City Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Gosport Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Harlow Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Havant Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Horsham District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Hyndburn Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Lewes District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Malvern Hills District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Mid Suffolk District Council1/2
Mole Valley District Council1/2
Newcastle-Under-Lyme District Council1/2
New Forest District Council1/2
North Devon Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
North East Derbyshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
North Hertfordshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
North Kesteven District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
North Norfolk District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
North West Leicestershire District Council1/2
Norwich City Council1/2
Rossendale Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Rother District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Rugby Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Rushcliffe Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
South Cambridgeshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
South Derbyshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
South Hams District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
South Holland District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
South Oxfordshire District Council1/2southoxon.gov.uk
South Staffordshire Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Stafford Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
St Albans City and District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Stevenage Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Stratford-on-Avon District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Stroud District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Swale Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Tandridge District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Test Valley Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Tewkesbury Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Uttlesford District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Vale of White Horse District Council1/2
Warwick District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Wealden District Council1/2eenergy.com
Welwyn Hatfield Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
West Devon Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
West Lancashire Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
West Lindsey District Council1/2
West Oxfordshire District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
West Suffolk Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Winchester City Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Woking Borough Council1/2woking.gov.uk
Worcester City Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Worthing Borough Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Wyre Forest District Council1/2whatdotheyknow.com
Ashford Borough Council0/2
Basildon Borough Council0/2
Bassetlaw District Council0/2
Borough of Broxbourne0/2
Braintree District Council0/2
Breckland District Council0/2
Broadland District Council0/2
Burnley Borough Council0/2
Cannock Chase District Council0/2
Canterbury City Council0/2
Chelmsford City Council0/2
Cherwell District Council0/2
Chorley Council0/2
City of Lincoln Council0/2
Colchester Borough Council0/2
Crawley Borough Council0/2
Dartford Borough Council0/2
East Lindsey District Council0/2
East Staffordshire Borough Council0/2
Fenland District Council0/2
Folkestone and Hythe District Council0/2
Gravesham Borough Council0/2
Great Yarmouth Borough Council0/2
Guildford Borough Council0/2
Harborough District Council0/2
Hart District Council0/2
Hastings Borough Council0/2
Hertsmere Borough Council0/2
High Peak Borough Council0/2
Huntingdonshire District Council0/2
Ipswich Borough Council0/2
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council0/2
Lichfield District Council0/2
Maidstone Borough Council0/2
Maldon District Council0/2
Mansfield District Council0/2
Melton Borough Council0/2
Mid Devon District Council0/2
Mid Sussex District Council0/2
Newark and Sherwood District Council0/2
North Warwickshire Borough Council0/2
Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council0/2
Oadby and Wigston Borough Council0/2
Oxford City Council0/2
Pendle Borough Council0/2
Preston City Council0/2
Redditch Borough Council0/2
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council0/2
Ribble Valley Borough Council0/2
Rochford District Council0/2
Runnymede Borough Council0/2
Rushmoor Borough Council0/2
Sevenoaks District Council0/2
South Kesteven District Council0/2
South Norfolk District Council0/2
South Ribble Borough Council0/2
Staffordshire Moorlands District Council0/2
Surrey Heath Borough Council0/2
Tamworth Borough Council0/2
Teignbridge District Council0/2
Tendring District Council0/2
Thanet District Council0/2
Three Rivers District Council0/2
Torridge District Council0/2
Tunbridge Wells Borough Council0/2
Watford Borough Council0/2
Waverley Borough Council0/2
Wychavon District Council0/2
Wyre Council0/2